Collectors Club

Community Arts & Cultural Development

2020 John Stringer Prize

The John Stringer Prize is an annual, non-acquisitive Prize for Western Australian contemporary artists, initiated and run by the Collectors Club of Western Australia.

Days Left

The prestigious John Stringer Prize – created in 2015 in honour of acclaimed curator, the late John Stringer (1945–2007) – commissions six contemporary Western Australian artists to create new work from which a winning artist, selected by the Collectors Club will receive $12,500.

Entry to the John Stringer Prize is by invitation only and in 2020 finalists are Eva Fernandez, Fiona Gavino, Peggy Madij Griffiths, Susan Roux, Curtis Taylor and Mark Tweedie. Finalists have been selected by an independent panel of eminent figures in the industry comprising: Janis Nedela Curatorial Department, The Stokes Collection, Glenn Iseger-Pilkington, Lead Consultant, Gee Consultancy and Jane King, Manager, John Curtin Gallery.

The selection process involves each panel member devising a shortlist of eligible artists, with the panel then conferring to choose six artists whom they jointly agree have upheld rigorous practices worthy of the prize. In making a selection, panelists are expected to place emphasis on the need to encourage practitioners who, in their opinion, are deserving of greater recognition.

The Prize celebrates the memory of John Stringer who passed away in 2007. John was the Curator of The Stokes Collection and adviser to the Collectors Club. The Prize honours John’s life and the legacy of his contribution to local visual arts and culture. In keeping with John’s passionate devotion to the arts, and his wish to see greater patronage of local talent, the Prize is intended to encourage and support Western Australian artists. Through the involvement of the Collectors Club of Western Australia, the Prize connects locally based artists with collectors, thus contributing to the vibrancy and economic viability of the Western Australian art market.

This year the prize takes on more significance as it enables the support of the arts community during these unprecedented and uncertain times.

A new or recent artwork by each of the six finalist artists will be showcased at John Curtin Gallery. During the exhibition, the winner of the Prize will be determined by a secret ballot performed by the Collectors Club members and announced at an Award Night.

In previous years, a Prize of $12,500 has been raised for the recipient of the John Stringer Prize. It is hoped that, with the support of your tax deductible donations, this amount may be exceeded in 2020. The more lucrative the Prize, the stronger its impact in bolstering and celebrating Western Australian visual art.

IMAGE: 2019 John Stringer Prize winner Bjoern Rainer-Adamson’s artwork ‘Protozoon’, 2019, kinetic installation, 120cm diameter. Image and photo courtesy the artist.

Live Projects


Projects Funded


The Collectors Club is a membership based cultural organisation founded by the late John Stringer (former curator of the Stokes Collection). Its members are art patrons and collectors who join together to visit artists studios and exhibitions. The Club encourages them to acquire works from emerging artists, and a minimum of at least one such work per year must be purchased and then displayed at a “Show and Tell” exhibition.

The Club is also implementing a non-acquisitive “John Stringer Prize” of no less than $10,000 per annum for West Australian visual artists. Each year a panel of three independent industry experts will select six artists to participate in the Prize. Over the following six months the artists will create a work for the Prize exhibition, and their studios will be visited by members. The winner of the Prize will be determined by ballot amongst the members.

All works created for the prize will be available for purchase by silent auction (with the reserve set by each artist).

The Club aims (by means of tax deductible donations) to increase the quantum of the John Stringer Prize to $50,000 per annum.


Lucinda Wilson


Robyn Glindemann


Davis McCann


Margot Lang


Dr Andrew Lu & Dr G Lancaster


Serena Nathan




Melvin Yeo