City of Yarra




Social Media

The City of Yarra is an inner metropolitan municipality of Melbourne which is home to a diverse community of about 86,500 people. About 19.5km2 in size, Yarra takes in the suburbs of Abbotsford, Burnley, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, Cremorne, North Carlton, Fitzroy, North Fitzroy, Richmond and parts of Alphington and Fairfield.

Our vision is for arts and culture to be integrated into our City so that it can be an everyday experience that is enjoyed by all of our community; whether as makers, audience members or participants.

Council takes our role as a leader and custodian for Yarra’s creative community seriously and recognises the value of the creative identity that has developed in our City over the past decades. This is something that defines what our City is and is a priority area for Council action. Arts and cultural activities are valuable to our community and to those who live, work in and visit our City. Arts and culture are fundamental to a society that prides itself on diversity. Freedom of expression, experimentation and critical dialogue are invaluable and must be supported.

The Wurundjeri-willam people of the Kulin Nation are the Traditional Owners of the land that is now known as the City of Yarra and Council recognises them as the custodians of the cultural heritage of this land.